English

HOD English:
Mrs. Sharon Doubell

For any queries regarding English,
please email sdoubell@jeppeboys.co.za

English is offered at a Home Language level and is taught by a dedicated and highly professional team.

The aim of the English Department at Jeppe High School for Boys is to provide learners with the skills and insights needed to engage with and interpret a wide variety of texts; to introduce learners to the rich diversity of literature written in English, both locally and globally; to develop an awareness of, and sensitivity to, the English language (appropriate grammar, vocabulary and pronunciation) and its uses; to promote discussion and debate, stimulate intellectual curiosity; to be accessible to boys from all cultural backgrounds; and to equip learners with the tools to participate as critical and articulate citizens in a cosmopolitan South Africa.

Reading underpins every academic success. Boys at Jeppe are required to complete a number of set works over the course of an academic year which cover the classics as well as more contemporary titles. The boys are also encouraged to read for pleasure. This not only contributes to their fluency and comprehension of the language, but assists them in becoming well-rounded individuals.

Educators in this department:
Mrs. Doubell – sdoubell@jeppeboys.co.za
Mrs. Ogle – bogle@jeppeboys.co.za
Mrs. Kemp – bkemp@jeppeboys.co.za
Mrs. Rattray – crattray@jeppeboys.co.za
Mr. Williams – dwilliams@jeppeboys.co.za
Mr. Grace – dgrace@jeppeboys.co.za
Ms. Adams – kadams@jeppeboys.co.za
Mr. Jordaan – vjordaan@jeppeboys.co.za
Mr. De Villiers – gdevilliers@jeppeboys.co.za
Mr. Mogale – tmogale@jeppeboys.co.za
Mr. Murison – pmurison@jeppeboys.co.za