Geography

HOD Geography:
Mrs. Lindy-Ann Theunissen

For any queries regarding Geography,
please email ltheunissen@jeppeboys.co.za

Geography is current, dynamic, exciting and relevant. Geography encompasses a myriad of topics. It looks at how humans interact with and impact the environment. With sustainability as a global priority our boys could have a hand in improving the state of our world. Geography will equip learners with a thorough understanding of natural and man-made disasters and will empower learners with the skills to read and interpret any map. Learners will discover what fuels our economy and what is happening to our population. GIS – Geographic Information Systems is a whole new field that is becoming more and more relevant in the world today!

The subject of Geography falls under the broader classifications of Humanities. Geography is a “bridge subject that forms an integral link between the sciences and the humanities at university and in the work place”. Geography is accepted as a subject in the BA and BSC fields of study. It is a subject that will give the learner exposure to critical thinking skills, problem solving skills and life skills. Geography is relevant to engineering, environmental law, environmental impact studies, geology, mining, archaeology, travel and tourism, meteorology, aeronautics, marine biology to name but a few.

With the state that our world is in now, the career opportunities are vast according to the United Nations. One of America’s governors has said, “We are the first generation to feel the impact of climate change and the last generation that can do something about it.”

Educators in this department:
Mrs. Theunissen – ltheunissen@jeppeboys.co.za
Mrs. Sookdeo – asookdeo@jeppeboys.co.za
Mr. Allan – jallan@jeppeboys.co.za
Mr. Mogale – tmogale@jeppeboys.co.za
Mr Jordaan – vjordaan@jeppeboys.co.za
Mr. Templeton – ctempleton@jeppeboys.co.za