1st Cross Country Team Capping Ceremony

Cross Country has enjoyed a growth spurt over the past few seasons under the care of Mr McCann and Coach Tyson – both of whom are top marathon runners. We are excited to announce that due to this growth and the newly established criteria, we were able to hold our first 1st team Capping Ceremony in honour of our top runners.

In the ceremony held last week, the seven boys selected for the team received their race kit which has been sponsored by Teljoy, while sharing a light dinner attended by Headmaster, Dale Jackson, and Deputy Headmaster in charge of extramurals, Brendan Gittins. 

Although their races have been put on hold, training is at an all time high as there is no certainty as to when the season will resume. 

Guest visitor Mzwakhe Mashaba took the opportunity to join the boys during their afternoon training before advising them at the ceremony that one of their greatest motivators will be each other’s encouragement. “Cross Country is a team sport” he said “and it’s your peers that see your improvement each year.” He emphasised that cheering each other on is a part of your success as a runner, and to push the younger boys and keep them excited about the sport in this way.

Nic McCann, MIC for Cross Country, said what a privilege it was to be working with this group of boys and that their selection for the team was well deserved and that they could all be proud of this achievement. He assured the boys that they each had the potential to compete at club level and to keep on working hard – as that is what a sport like this takes.The team are:
Dian Alberts-Flynn, Joshua Gillespie, Farrell Miles, Ntokozo Mnguni, Sithembiso Hopewell Nkosi, Keaton Stansfeld, David Williams