Have any questions?    +27 (0) 11 614 1938    hms@jeppeboys.co.za


Jeppe High School for Boys is one of only two Gauteng schools (the other being St Stithians) and ten schools in South Africa to have been awarded “Blue Chip” status by Cricket South Africa. This is the highest honour that a school can be awarded and take into account a number of factors such as coaching structures, facilities and infrastructure, number of teams, quality and certification of coaches and transformation and diversity

History of Jeppe Cricket:

The earliest record of cricket being played at Jeppe dates back to 1906 according to the first school magazine printed and cricket captains at the school are listed from 1906 onwards.

The first match recorded was against Marist Brothers on 3 November 1906.

Early historical records state that the facilities consisted of “sandy hillocks and wastes, shared with a dozen other clubs.” In 1910 the first nets were built at the school and in 1939, the first turf wicket was laid on clay, donated by the Transvaal Cricket Union.

The school now boast 3 turf wicket cricket ovals, 10 turf cricket nets, 4 artificial outdoor nets, as well as a state of the art Indoor Cricket Centre that was opened in 2015. The Indoor Cricket centre consists of 5 nets and there are two bowling machines.

Apart from the many fine cricket coaches that have been on the staff, NB Vines, AH Childe and HN Beckwith in particular, professional cricketers have also been employed over the years.

Charlie Marshall was a highly respected coach of the 1950’s, during which time half the schools SA Schools’ caps were awarded.

Ex-ICC Umpire, Cyril Mitchley was the last full time professional coach hired by the school who have since had full time staff responsible for the coaching. The Cricket Patrons Association was established in 1967 and they have instrumental in assisting with the continual improvement of the cricket facilities at the school.

The first Jeppe Old Boy to play for South Africa was AH Cooper in 1913 and he later returned to teach at the school. Jeppe produced five players to the 1931 Springbok Team that toured England and these included H. Cameron, RH Catterall, JA Christy, Q. McMillan and CL Vincent. N Gordon and RJ Crisp were the schools next Springboks in the late 1930’s. Brothers Eric and Athol Rowan, as well as GM Fullerton gained their Springbok caps in the 1940’s and 1950’s. N. Adcock (1953) and AJ Kourie(1981) were more recent old boys to play for South Africa whilst T. Shamsi represented the country in 2016 in all 3 formats of the game.

The school has produced 11 SA Schools Caps to date, whilst in 2017 K. Molefe represented the SA Under 19 team in a One Day Series against the West Indies Under 19 team.

SA Schools Caps:

1940                       D. Stewart

1941                       S. Collins

1949                       R. Fowler

1951/52                G. Ritchie

1952                       L. Gill

1956                       J. Baillie

1958                       K. Anderson

1962                       N. Weightman

1970                       A. Kourie

1987/88                D. Laing

1988/89                M. Johnston

1990/91                V. Vermeulen

2017                       K. Molefe

SA Under 19 Caps:

2017                       K. Molefe

International Caps:

1906                       P. Sherwell

1913                       A. Cooper

1919                       F. Elworthy

1922                       R. Catterall

1927                       H. Cameron

1927                       C. Vincent

1929                       J. Christy

1929                       Q. McMillan

1935                       R. Crisp

1935                       E. Rowan

1938                       N. Gordon

1947                       G. Fullerton

1947                       A. Rowan

1953                       N. Adcock

1981                       A. Kourie

2006                       G. Strydom (Zimbabwe)

2007                       G. Roome (Isle of Mann)

2008                       G. Sommer (Germany)

2014                       S. Mdluli (Swaziland)

2016                       T. Shamsi