Jeppe unbeaten at Ken Short Festival

Jeppe MIC of water polo Mr Josh Allan

The 23rd annual Ken Short Memorial under-14 water polo festival took place at Jeppe High School for Boys last weekend.

It has been a tournament with an eventual winner for most of those 23 years but it was decided, this year, to change the format to a proper festival, with every team playing everyone else and no points being kept.

This the 1st season of water polo for most of these boys and the emphasis was on learning to play the game instead of on winning. Coaches were encouraged to give all the players in their squad adequate time in the water in all of the games. That often doesn’t happen towards the end of a tournament when the teams begin playing knockout games and the first choice players tend to stay in the water for most of the time.

No tournament team was chosen, but there were prizes for the best attacker, best defender and the best goalkeeper. They were: best goalkeeper – Pierre du Plessis (Rondebosch); best attacker – Meyer Malherbe (St Stithians); best defender – Greg Pryce (St David’s).

There was no overall winner of the festival, but Jeppe was one of the few schools that won all of its matches.

Our results were: vs St Benedict’s won 5-4, vs Maritzburg College won 11-3, vs Westville won 4-2, vs Pretoria won 5-3, vs DHS won 8-2, vs Parktown won 11-2, vs Reddam House won 12-7.

The participating schools were: SACS, Grey College, Maritzburg College, Pretoria Boys’ High, Bishops, St Stithians, St David’s, Selborne, Jeppe, St Alban’s, Westville, St Benedict’s. Rondebosch, Reddam House, Parktown, King Edward, Affies, St John’s, Durban High School.