Rugby awards 2017



The annual Rugby Dinner was held on Saturday night. A number of awards were made, including to the best forward and backline player in each team.

The following major award were handed out at the dinner:

Most Spirited Junior Player – Nathan Gould

Most Spirited Senior Player – Nhlanhla Nkosi

Team with the highest win ratio – Under-16A

Headmasters Awards:

Best Junior Team – Under-14C

Best Senior Team – 3rd XV

Team of the Year – Under-16A

Meyer Award (given to the matric rugby player who epitomises the true meaning of the Jeppe Spirit, family and tradition) – Sizwe Nkosi

Campbell Floating Trophy (awarded to the matric rugby player who has represented Jeppe from grade 8, one who has represented the Black and White with pride, passion and commitment at all times and who has been a credit to his team mates, himself and his school) – Douglas Cutter

Neville Curtis Award (awarded to the 1st XV rugby player, voted by his peers, as the person who shows incredible passion for the game and for his camaraderie on and off the field) – Kegan Litchfield


The individual player awards were


A: forward Kayden Booysen; backlineLesedi Moloto

B: forward Dylan Botes; backline Darren van Wyk

C: forward Liam McCourt; backline Timothy Colby

D: forward Mohau Potsane; backlineJames Outram

E: forward Callum Wilson; backline Phillip Schoeman.


A: forward Ocean Tshimbalanga;backline Gabriel Zeid

B: forward Matthew Gould; backline Jason Godwin

C: forward Jarred Ambler; backline Nathan Mac Kaiser

D: forward Mzingaye Khumalo; backline Joel Rabe

E: forward Oratile Ndlovu; backline Jarryd Taylor.


A: forward Sibusiso Shongwe; backline Hugo Monteiro

B: forward Christian Jordaan; backline Daniel Bryant

C: forward Rulani Mashele; backline Jesse Street

D: forward Thabiso Okiche; backline Ty Johnson


1st XV: forward Kegan Litchfield; backline Muzilikazi Manyike

2nd XV: forward Nhlanhla Nkosi; backline Sicelo Maphosa

3rd XV: forward Thandolwethu Maseko; backline Tristan Nicholls

4th XV: forward Kevin Du Preez; backline Samkele Sithole

5th XV: forward Thuto Scheepers; backline George Mofokeng

6th XV: forward Youry Ngnatat; backline Ntate Phakela.

From left: Douglas Cutter, Sizwe Nkozi, Kegan Litchfield